Change language

The Land
The People

Join our project and help bring organic herbs from Bosnia to the world to heal this war-torn country.

The Project

"We grow pure, organic herbs on land leased to us by the people of Bijelo Brdo and export our products to European markets. With love for the land and the people. For growth and prosperity of the region."

Clean the land

With your support we clear the fertile lands, lent to us by bosnian families, from overgrowth and ruins.

Grow organic herbs

We cultivate pure and organic Herbs according to the highest quality standards defined and certified by Bio-Suisse.

Help Bosnian families

The lands of local families are returned to them cleared from overgrowth and more valueable at lease´s end.

The People

The project team consists of people with extensive knowledge and experience in agriculture, marketing and sales.

Ivana Stjepanovic

Ivana Stjepanovic is a child of Bosnia, source of the initial idea and the project´s founder. She brings with her her vision, love for the land and it´s people and experience in strategic branding and product management.

Jan - M. Müller

Jan - M. Müller is the CEO of HerbaPack Deutschland, an internationally reknown and successfull producer of organic teas and spices. He supports the project with his experience and knowledge of production processing and sales.

Organic farmers from Austria

like Birgit Schattbacher. She is a passionate organic farmer and produces delicacies based on roses and herbs. With her agricultural expertise, she will act as a project mentor.

The Idea

Three years before: We are returning back to Austria from our vacation at our grandparents, who now live in Split. My two sisters and I are chatting about how we now have to return to our jobs and studies. We start debating what we would really like to be doing. Josipa: „It was lovely growing up in the Bosnian countryside. Remember? Marija: “One day when we go back we´ll have sheep and goats to graze in our fields. “ And what crops shall we plant? Josipa:“ Herbs, medicinal herbs! I´ll quit my medical degree one year before becoming a doctor and become a witchdoctor instead! “  We all laugh but the thought of medicinal herbs remains with me. Somehow they could heal this economically underdeveloped and war torn country. A recently read statistic about supply and demand of such herbs comes to mind; high demand for medicinal herbs! Ivana; „But if we do this then it must all be organic. Just the way it was back then on our farm. No chemicals, just pure nature. “

I am thinking about not having been to Bosnia in a long time. It´s been more than twenty years since we had to flee the country. I recall running through the corn fields as a child and stealing an ear of corn every now and then. I remember the scent of the lime trees, which filled the air throughout town in June and how it enchanted me even then. It is the scent of my home. We used to collect those lovely lime blossoms with our grandmother and lay them out to dry and use them to make tea. I also recall the scent of rosemary. According to local belief, rosemary not only possesses the power to heal, but also to drive away evil spirits. We could grow rosemary again! The evil spirits and the hateful memories of the war need to be driven out. The people must learn to forgive each other find a way to live together again. Maybe working together on an interesting and fulfilling project would help them reunite…I feel a spark ignite inside of me. The idea is born.

20160624_140614

June 2016: With a shovel in hand, I stand together with my father in an overgrown field. We have cleared a small path into an overgrown field in order to take soil samples. Tests need to be done to determine which herbs would be most suited to grow here. We spoke to a lot of people about my idea that day and many agreed to lend me their abandoned plots of land in order for me to clear it from overgrowth and housing ruins and plant my by now already beloved herbs. I explained to them my conviction that organic farming would not only yield a more marketable crop, but would also increase the value of their land over time. They smiled at my vision of an ecological village in which organic farming is powered by renewable energy and all activities are run with the utmost respect for the people involved and the natural resources at hand.  A village where all the ethnic groups can once again find a common ground through my project and put their differences behind them.

My vision is clear to me: people enjoying our organic Bosnian products worldwide- all the happy and satisfied customers who know that they are consuming purely organic products which have helped heal the people and the land of its origin.

 

Support our project

Change language

The Land
The People

Unterstütze unser Projekt dabei, Bio-Kräuter aus Bosnien in die Welt zu bringen und hilf uns, dieses kriegszerstörte Land zu heilen.

Das Projekt

"Auf von Familien aus Bijelo Brdo geliehenem Land werden wir reine Bio-Kräuter anbauen und auf Europas Märkte exportieren. In Liebe zum Land und zu den Menschen, für Wachstum und Entwicklung der Region."

Land reinigen

Mit eurer Hilfe reinigen wir das uns von bosnischen Familien geliehene Land und den gesunden, fruchtbaren Boden von Verwucherungen und Ruinen.

Bio Kräuter anbauen

Wir bauen reine, unbelastete Bio - Heil- & Gewürzkräuter auf höchstem qualitativem Niveau an - zertifiziert nach Bio-Suisse Standard.

Bosnischen Familien helfen

Familien aus Bijelo Brdo erhalten ihre ehemaligen Felder und Grundstücke gereinigt und aufgewertet zurück.

Das Team

Das Projektteam besteht aus Menschen mit hohem Wissen in Landwirtschaft, Marketing und Vertrieb.

Ivana Stjepanovic

"Ivana Stjepanovic ist ein Kind Bosniens, Ideengeberin und Projektgründerin. Sie bringt ihre Vision, Liebe zum Land und den Menschen als auch Erfahrung in strategischem Markenaufbau und Produktmanagement in das Projekt mit ein."

Jan - M. Müller

"Jan - M. Müller ist CEO bei HerbaPack Deutschland, einem international erfolgreichen Unternehmen in der Produktion von Bio-Tees und Bio-Gewürzen. Er unterstützt das Projekt mit seinem Wissen zur Produktfertigung und
-vermarktung."

Bio-Bauern aus Österreich

wie auch Birgit Schattbacher. Sie ist passionierte Bio- Bäuerin und -Produzentin von Köstlichkeiten - gemacht aus selbst hergestellten Rosen und Kräutern. Als Mentorin des Projekts bringt sie ihre landwirtschaftliche Expertise mit hinein.

DIE IDEE

Drei Jahre zuvor: Auf dem Weg nach Österreich vom gemeinsamen Urlaub von meinen Großeltern in Split, die nun dort leben. Meine zwei Schwestern und ich quatschen darüber, dass es  nach dem Urlaub wieder zurück zur Arbeit oder zum Studium geht. Wir reden darüber, was wir am liebsten tun würden. Josipa: „Erinnerst du dich, es war doch schön in Bosnien am Land zu leben?“

Wenn wir wieder zurückgehen, soll es Schafe geben und Ziegen, die unsere Weiden mähen. Und was wollen wir anpflanzen?  J: „Kräuter, Heilkräuter! Ich breche mein Medizinstudium  im letzten Jahr ab und werde Kräuterhexe!“ Wir lachen, doch die Heilkräuter lassen mich nicht mehr los.  Sie könnten dem kriegszerstörten, wirtschaftlich unterentwickelten Land wieder Heilung bringen.  Eine unlängst gelesene Statistik blitzt vor meinen Augen auf, Angebot und Nachfrage, hoher Bedarf an Heilkräutern. I: „Aber wenn, dann muss das alles Bio sein. So wie es eben früher bei uns war. Keine Chemikalien. Pure Natur. Rein.“  

Ich überlege, schon lang nicht mehr in Bosnien gewesen zu sein. Es sind mehr als zwanzig Jahre nach unserer Flucht vergangen. Ich laufe vor meinen Augen erneut durch die Maisfelder, aus denen wir als Kinder Mais mitgehen haben lassen. Ich erinnere mich an den Duft der Linden, der im Juni in der ganzen Ortschaft umherwehte und mich schon als Kind verzaubert hat. Es ist der Duft meiner Heimat. Diese hübschen Lindenblüten, die wir mit Großmutter gesammelt und zu Tee getrocknet haben. Ich rieche den Duft des Rosmarins und denke an seine lt. Volksglauben heilende und böse Geister vertreibende Wirkung. Das könnte doch dort wieder wachsen! Die bösen Geister gehören vertrieben. Die Menschen müssen wieder zueinander finden! Das geht vielleicht wenn sie an einem schönen Projekt miteinander arbeiten…. Ich spüre einen Funken in mir, der  zündet. Die Idee ist geboren.

DER WEG

Juni 2016: Ich stehe mit einer Schaufel in der Hand mit meinem Vater auf einem verwucherten Feld, zu dem wir uns den Weg mit der Schaufel frei geschlagen haben. Wir stehen an diesem Punkt, um Bodenproben zu nehmen und heraus zu finden, welche Kräuter auf dieser Art von Erde am besten wachsen. Wir sprachen mit Vielen über meine Idee und sie erklärten sich bereit, mir ihr brach liegendes Land zu leihen, sodass ich es von Gestrüpp, Verwucherungen und Ruinen reinigen und meine bereits jetzt geliebten Pflänzchen auf ihrem Eigentum säen kann. Ich erzählte ihnen von meiner Überzeugung zu Bio, dass ich ihr Land aufwerten werde, wenn ich auf diese Art anbaue und dass sie einen noch größeren Schatz nach Ablauf unserer Pachtverträge wieder zurück erhalten. Sie lächelten über meine Vision eines Ökodorfes, in dem rein biologisch mit erneuerbarer Energie und mit Respekt für die Menschen und die vorhandenen Ressourcen gewirtschaftet wird, in dem alle ethnischen Gruppen, die zerstritten waren wieder zusammenarbeiten.  

20160624_140614

DIE VISION

Ich habe meine Vision vor Augen: Menschen, die sich weltweit über unsere bosnischen Bio-Produkte freuen– Menschen mit dem Wissen, dass sie ein reines Bio- Produkt konsumieren, das zur Heilung von Land und Mensch beigetragen hat. Ich sehe Heilpflanzen auf unseren Feldern wachsen.

Unterstütze das Projekt